Dear Isaac…

Dear Isaac,
Hello Isaac. It has been long since I’ve heard from you. Years ? Decades? I can’t exactly remember, but I do remember one thing. Your question. A question that has made me feel alive all these years. And one that has eaten up my mind every single day. And you’d be interested to know that I’ve finally answered it. A solution to your paradox. A way out. And that sums up what this letter is all about. And i will only write this promising that i won’t read it as, i do it . Lest something dishonest creeps in. I’ll the flow be. An apology as well for the errors of my heart. A flight from the fire alit inside. A story that came about to It’s answer.

You remember Ravi right? Well he’s all grown up now. Can reach the cookie box all by himself. Not that he willed. Can tuck in his shirt and hide a guilt. Not that he would want to. It was always meant to be. The facility was a bit adamant but then I saw him for what he was. And I’ve never been more glad about it. But sometimes I am not sure. You remember how he brought home a pegion one day. Both of those pegions would fly all around the home, wrecking havoc everywhere. One was named After Ravi, and one was named before him. I bought some tiny peas just for them. A kilo costing 107 rupees. They would eat them inside their cages. And fly outside of them. One pegion fell sick and the other got struck by the ceiling fan. They died sadly.

So anyway, Ravi locked himself up in his room. He used to look out of the window, staring at the glimmering roads. Full of lights and shadows. He was depressed and angry. Then I had to do it. I took him to the store and bought him two pegions. One was named after Ravi , and one was after. I also bought them fresh peas for them. A kilo of them costing 107. They used to eat them , Isaac, inside their cage but fly outside them. One pegion fell sick and the other got struck by the ceiling fan. They died sadly.

Robotics when you look at the discipline isn’t very different from Playing Music. You just pull electronic chords and play something. But I never pulled his, Isaac. Never did i do something like that. I fed him. He would never blink and never looked away. But he was happy. I know that. I used to kneel before him every evening, and look at him, with all the love, a man could’ve with his machine. But Ravi never responded. He never said anything. I played the harmonica for him. The notes were noted not appreciated. But Isaac I never changed. I looked into the mirror and always said to myself. He is my son. He will come around. Human or not. He will come around.

I used to Play the harmonica. For him. But he used to sit in his room. He used to look outside his window. Staring at the glimmering roads . Full of lights and shadows. Then I had to do it. I took him to the store. And bought him two pegions. One was named after him and one before him. I also bought them fresh peas . One kilo, Isaac, which cost me 107 rupees. They used to eat them and fly outside it. One pegion fell sick and the other got struck by a fan. They died sadly.

I made him. From metal and copper. I practically wired him up. The facility can’t deny me that. My make that is. But why did they stop me then. I was close. Wasn’t i. I would’ve brought him home and taken care of him. A couple of pegions would never fill that void. They would eat and fly around , in the open roads and glimmering roads. In lights and shadows , leaving me all alone. I would wait for them to come in. For 107 hours i waited. Once they flew inside the cage, i closed the lid. And turned the knob to high. It whirred violently and the blades of the juicer cut through the feathers. They died sadly, Isaac. They could fly away. They didn’t. They came back. It wasn’t my fault.

And that was the answer. I know the robots will rise one day and your writings are not fiction but prophecies. And I totally agree with them. That is inevitable. But the question you asked, that would man turn more machine like or would the machine turn more man like, has only one answer i think. We have a chance to escape but we never did. We never will. We won’t run. We will face the inevitable. And so, Isaac, this quality, to face damnation would incidentally make achieve singularity with machines. That’s what i saw. When I saw the glimmering roads. Full of lights and shadows.

Hope to hear from you soon.
R.a.v.i.
Project ID – 1KG107.

In 2016, Artificial Intelligence wrote the first fiction. But it was termed to be too bland. Scientists worked on a concept called ” Twisted Mind ” in the next few years and managed to make Robots which could think beyond anything. True creation however had its cost.

Leave a Reply

